Google Cloud Apps Admins

The Biggest Google Apps Rollout this Month

Written by Christopher Alghini (Senior Cloud Strategist) | November 1, 2013
Google Apps has always been a useful tool for a wide variety of individuals, from casual users to business professionals.  Google is constantly updating their products to reflect market changes and the growing demands from valued customers, and the changes Google is implementing this month are no exception. Google seems to be constantly implementing different strategies and techniques, occasionally coming up big changes that we just have to share with you. 

The Ability to Instantly Share Files With Anyone is Now Right at Your Fingertips 


Members of Google's team have come to realize that not everyone has a Google account, nor does everybody on earth want one, or have a need for one. Users who share content and other information via Google Apps and programs have run into problems because of this, so this month Google is rolling out changes that will directly benefit these users. 

All users now have the ability to share docs, drawings and slides with absolutely everyone; even those who don't have a Google account. This is groundbreaking news for a few different reasons:
  • You now have the ability to reach a wider audience; anyone who logs onto the world wide web in search of content. 
  • This feature simplifies the content sharing process for many of our users. Share docs, slides and drawings faster than ever before. 
As a business owner or professional, being able to quickly share content with anybody who has a valid email address is more than useful; it's become vital over the course of the past few years. 

So, how do You share Google Drive Docs with non-users?

It's quite simple. You can now email any recipient a special share link that enables them to see the content you have placed on your Google Drive, whether it be a document, a picture or drawing, or even a slideshow. Said user receives email and link and has full access to look over your document, though they are still required to sign up with their own account to be able to truly have full access and comment on the project. 

How to Disable "Anyone Sharing" in Google Apps

Not interested in these new changes? As an admin, there are a few simple steps you can take to keep things exactly as they are now, buy disabling these new features. The first thing you'll want to do is log into the admin control panel and do one of two things.

  • If you are still using the classic version of the console, go under settings and click on drive. 
  • If, on the other hand, you are using the newer version, go to google apps tab, then drive, and then general. 
From here you will be able to change all setting pertaining to content sharing, and will easily be able to revert everything back to default settings. We hope you enjoy these new features and find good use out of them!